PART III.—ADMINISTRATIVE FUNCTIONS OF THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

Section 1.—Departments, Boards, Commissions, etc.

The following paragraphs indicate the functions of the various departments of government and the special boards and commissions in connection with the work of government.

Though it is not possible, owing to the limitations of space, to enumerate in this Section the details of each service or the divisions or sections of all the departments, the main branches are given along with those services that differ in some quality from the larger class of subjects handled by a department. The work of many of these departments is given in detail in later Chapters of this volume. The Index will be useful in locating required information.

Department of Agriculture.—This Department was established in 1867 (30 Vict., c. 53) and conducts the concerns of all phases of agriculture. Research and experimentation are carried out by the Science Service and the Experimental Farms Service; the maintenance of standards and protection of products by the Production Service and Marketing Service; reclamation and development by the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration and the Maritime Marshland Rehabilitation Administration; while security and price stability policies are administered under the Prairie Farm Assistance Administration and the Agricultural Prices Support Board. The results of work in these various fields and information on the policies of the Department in general are made available to the public through the Information Service.

Auditor General's Office.—The Office of Auditor General is authorized under the Financial Administration Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 116). Duties include the auditing of accounts of expenditures and revenue of Canada, and of Crown companies and other instrumentalities, and the reporting thereon to Parliament.

The Department of Citizenship and Immigration.—This Department came into existence on Jan. 18, 1950, under the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. It comprises the Canadian Citizenship Branch, the Canadian Citizenship Registration Branch, the Immigration Branch and the Indian Affairs Branch.

The Canadian Citizenship Branch assists governmental and non-governmental agencies engaged or interested in facilitating the adjustment and integration of newcomers and in making Canadians conscious of their privileges and responsibilities as citizens.

The Canadian Citizenship Registration Branch administers the Canadian Citizenship Act and is the custodian of all records under that Act and all Naturalization Acts previously in force.

The Immigration Branch administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection, examination and transportation of immigrants, the exclusion or deportation of undesirables and the settlement or establishment of immigrants in Canada.

The activities of the Indian Affairs Branch include management of all Indian affairs. Its organization consists of a headquarters office at Ottawa, a regional supervisory staff, and 87 local agencies in the field.

The Minister of Citizenship and Immigration is responsible to Parliament for the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, and for the National Gallery of Canada which is governed by a Board of Trustees.

The Civil Service Commission.—The Civil Service Commission of Canada dates from the Civil Service Act of 1908. Under this Act the Commission was given the responsibility of applying, as far as possible, the principle of appointment by merit in filling permanent positions within departmental headquarters positions at Ottawa, termed the "inside service".

The Civil Service Act of 1918 extended the competitive system of appointments to cover the outside as well as the inside service and temporary as well as permanent appointments. It made the Commission responsible for establishing a system of organization and classification that would secure uniformity in the staffing of the various departments and in the salaries paid for work of equal levels of difficulty and responsibility.

The jurisdiction of the Commission now extends to all departments of the Government and to a large number of boards and commissions, exclusive of Crown corporations.